This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Australia

Australia is made up of 8 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Australia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Australia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Australia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Australia

There are 8 regions in Australia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Australia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
New South Wales State of New South Wales1.6,917,658Sydney Sydney4,627,345
Victoria State of Victoria2.5,354,042Melbourne Melbourne4,246,375
Queensland State of Queensland3.4,332,739Brisbane Brisbane2,189,878
Western Australia State of Western Australia4.2,239,170Perth Perth1,896,548
South Australia State of South Australia5.1,596,572Adelaide Adelaide1,225,235
Australian Capital Territory Australian Capital Territory6.357,222Canberra Canberra367,752
Tasmania State of Tasmania7.495,354Hobart Hobart216,656
Northern Territory Northern Territory8.211,945Darwin Darwin129,062